The Central Committee of the CPI(ML) Red Star, updating its earlier stand, has decided to observe 28th July as the All India Martyrs Day to remember all the comrades who led and participated in the ideological, political struggle within CPI(M) against its neo-revisionist stand, leading to the Naxalbari Uprising in 1967, all the leaders and participants of this great mass uprising, and all the leaders and activists, the Communist Revolutionaries who were directly or indirectly part of the All India Coordination Committee of the Communist Revolutionaries (AICCCR) formed in 1968; we shall remember all these comrades on 28th July, the day on which comrade Charu Majumdar, the first General Secretary of the CPI(ML) died in police custody in 1972, and comrade T Nagi Reddy died in 1976 while in underground, all the comrades who became martyrs in these struggles and later, as well as all  comrades who were part of the AICCCR.

The state committees shall decide the dates to be observed as martyrs’ days based on this general understanding, and according to the practice followed so far.

The Central Committee has taken this decision as part of its efforts to settle accounts with the sectarian past and to unite all the CR forces who have general agreement on the analysis of the present international and national situation, and on the strategic approach for capture of political power under the leadership of a powerful communist party built on Bolshevik lines.

The Communist movement in India has a history of almost a century after the salvos of October Revolution in Russia brought Marxism-Leninism to the people of India who were engaged in the national liberation struggle against the British colonialists. It is a complex and chequered history.